El rincón idiomático – That’s corny!

6 Dec

One of the things I’ve noticed as I’ve grown older (though not that old yet!) is the reduced amount of energy I have, particularly at night. Maybe it’s the early morning alarm clocks (i.e. kids) or maybe it is age but, one way or another, after the kids are in bed, I often don’t have the gumption and energy to want to go out.. or even stay up late for that matter. I much prefer to just kick back at home a bit and try to get to sleep early.  Call me lame, call me old but it’s just how I feel.  When I used to use the time to get work done or even stay up and watch TV, now I feel sleepy and want to lay down which, ultimately, leads to early sleep.

One of the things I used to love to do was go out to the movies. With the advent of the internet, DVDs, etc. actually going to the movies seems like it’s become a dying thing.  Why would anyone want to go out to the movies if they can just watch a good movie in the comfort and privacy of their own home? Well, that’s a debate for another date but since we’re talking about the movies I wanted to mention in my language corner today what is one of my favorite snack foods, one that I and many in the US undoubtedly associate with going to the movies: popcorn. In Spanish, I find this one of the more interesting words because the origin of corn I also associate with the natives of the Americas and, thus, with the Spanish language, it being the more dominant of the languages outside of the US and all.

Un puesto de pochoclo

In any case let’s start with the origin of the word “corn”. You and me both when we think of “corn” probably think of the Spanish/native word maíz.  Indeed, around the Spanish-speaking world, this is probably the most common word for “corn”… that is, if you’re talking about the PLANT or grain.  Even here in Argentina it’s known as maíz, so a gaucho told me last weekend when I was horseback riding through a cornfield in the Pampas. The trouble, though, begins when you start referring to the actual “fruit” or the corn that you eat… as in “corn on the cob”. Here in Argentina this is known as el choclo… which I buy from time to time as a treat for the kids to eat. However, in other countries, and in various contexts you may hear it also hear words such as el jojote, el elote and la maizena to refer to the “corn on the cob”.

Prochoclo and llamas at the zoo

Let’s though get back to the “popcorn” which has even MORE variations around the world.  In Spain (as well as other countries) I always called popcorn las palomitas. Here in Argentina, however, popcorn is always referred to as el pochoclo.  When I take my kids to the zoo, there’s always stands around the zoo selling pochoclo.  I’m told they eat them at movies as well but, as I said, I’m lame and haven’t made it out to the local cinema yet though that’s definitely on the “to do” list. Oh, and, incidentally if you’re an Expat here in Argentina and want to see an English-speaking movie in the theater in its native language here, unlike Spain, you’re in luck: almost all adult movies are subtitled and NOT dubbed.  All movies, that its, except kids movies since, of course, they really don’t read an if they do, not fast enough to be able to follow and enjoy the movie.

Here are a few other terms for “popcorn” I’ve found in various countries.  Hard to believe this word differs so much!

1) El canguil – Ecuador

2) Las rositas – Cuba

3) Las canchas – Perú

4) Las cabritas – Chile

5) Las cotufas – Venezuela

6) Las crispetas – Colombia

That’s a LOT! I didn’t even include it above but some countries even just call it popcorn. I’m losing more and more energy just thinking about trying to use each one of those in different Spanish-speaking countries.  I think I’ll just stick with being lame and staying in and doing some pochoclo de microondas!

Prof Rabner

Leave a comment