El rincón cultural – the tipping point

8 Dec

So, as a foreigner in a foreign land, one of the most important things about getting used to living here is adapting to the mindset of a local and learning the everyday customs. One of these customs is the concept of giving a tip (una propina) for services. Though we don’t pay for a ton of services here, we do go out to dinner, take cab rides, have a doorman, etc. so it’s a legitimate cultural norm that we’ve tried to understand. In the US, I’ve had arguments with people about tipping.  It seems that everyone, depending on their perspective and experience, has a slightly different view on who and what service should be tipped.  I think in the US there is an “expectation” from most workers for many services for a tip… regardless of the situation. While there always seems to be a debate over restaurants – Is 15% the norm or 20%? Do you base it on how well they serve you or what they have to do? Why do you tip a percent when someone isn’t doing better service just because prices may be higher? – outside of this, there’s a lot of gray area. I know that I never seem to know what a fair tip is in most situations. Do you reward someone just for doing the service they’re supposed to do and what you’ve supposedly paid them for?  You don’t want to offend but, at the same time, you do want to reward service above and beyond the expectations. Trouble is, at least for me, I never seem to know what the expectations are.

Anyway, I’ll give you what seems to be the expectations of workers here in Argentina. In general, I think, for whatever reason, Argentines seem to not expect tips nearly as much as Americans do. That being said, I think, though, that, when they do get one, because they don’t expect it, they appreciate it as much if not more than their American counterparts. Here are some of the tipping situations I’ve encountered here and what seems to be the norm.

              Do you agree with this?

1) Restaurants – Most people say a max of 10% for good service and, with Argentines I’ve spoken to about this, yes, this seems to be the consensus. When my father came to visit we went to a pretty nice restaurant and my father had a great time with very good service and he insisted on giving a 20% tip.  I told him that these were not the normal expectations in Argentina and that he was using US norms for this.  He said that he didn’t care and wanted to tip this much.  Is he wrong to do this? (side note: this was made worse as, after paying, I realized that my backpack had been stolen! No major valuables inside but it was a nice backpack. Should the restaurant have compensated me for the theft on their premises?)

2) Taxis – in New york, taxi drivers expect a decent tip.  Here in Buenos Aires, taxi drivers really don’t expect one at all but, if they receive one, they are VERY appreciative.  I usually give a peso or 2 tip and perhaps more if they go out of their way with bags, etc. that I may have or some other unexpected service.

3) Delivery people – There are tons of delivery people from restaurants, heladerias, supermercados, etc. and I think the expectations is to give them a small tip, depending on how much they bring.

Outside of this, there’s really not a lot of consensus.  Baggage guys at the airport? Your doorman? Maids?  Not really sure here.  Any Argentines are welcome to chime in here and give his/her perspective on this. What is your theory on tipping in BA… or even in the US? Is it all a deserved thing… or is it even small-scale bribery?

                         Interesting chart of tipping practices in the world

Prof Rabner

Leave a comment